Mayor Lucas Chooses TIF Commission Nominees

Mayor Quinton Lucas has chosen six members and six alternates for the city’s TIF (tax-increment finance) Commission who will decide which development projects do and don’t get tax breaks over the next four years, if the nominees are approved by city council. The governing body will have a chance to vote on Lucas’ choices at the Oct. 24 council meeting.

The nominations would replace the current TIF Commission,which was appointed by former Mayor Sly James. As is customary, all of them have submitted their resignations with the mayoral transition.

Alissia Canady, an attorney and  former city councilwoman was chosen to chair the committee. Council members Lee Barnes, Andrea Bough and Ryana Parks-Shaw are member nominees, as are Pam Mason, a former Clay County commissioner, and Tammy Queen, the city’s deputy director of finance.

Alternate nominees are: Andrea Dorch, a sports-business attorney who has worked in the city’s human relations department; Phil Glynn, a mayoral candidate and former TIF Commission member; former city councilman Bobby Hernandez; Michael McGee, an attorney specializing in banking and real estate at Duggan Shadwick Doerr & Kurlbaum LLC; Matt Oates, a former Kansas City Public Schools Board of Education member; and City Planning Director Jeffrey Williams.