Junior Achievement Scholarship Winners Announced

On Friday, the Kansas Insurance Department announced the Junior Achievement of Kansas Programs winners.

The scholarship contest aims to find students with a strong comprehension of financial literacy, according to the department. Contestants submitted a financial literacy essay detailing their understanding of their desired field. Among the three finalists, $10,000 of scholarship funds was awarded.

Kansas Insurance Commissioner Vicki Schmidt believes these essays are key to finding valuable candidates for this scholarship.

“Learning how to invest safely and wisely should begin early age, ” Commissioner Schmidt said. “These essays demonstrated that the students have obtained practical investment knowledge to complement their overall financial literacy.”

The scholarship winners:

First Place, $5,000 – Ella Foxhoven, Seaman High School
Second Place, $3,000 – Byron Trenton Howell, Topeka West High School
Third Place, $2,000 – Brayden Hoang, Wichita Northwest High School

The first-place winner, Foxhoven, will join two other winners from Jobs for America’s Graduates Kansas and the Kansas Council for Economic Education to compete for the overall winner of the essay contest and an additional scholarship of $5,000.