DED Awards $15.8 Million to Missouri Development Projects

Thirty-eight community development projects across Missouri will receive a portion of $15.8 million in funding from the state’s Department of Economic Development. Funding will be delivered under the Community Development Block Grant Program to improve local facilities.

The Missouri Department of Economic Development it will be spreading $15.8 million across 38 different community development projects across the state.

The focus is to improve infrastructure such as damaged streets and drainage improvements, but the projects vary across the cities.

The Community Development Block Grant Program was established to address local health and safety concerns to improve local facilities, according to the DED.The greatest amount of money, nearly $773,000, was allocated to the city of Ellsinore, Mo. The smallest amount approved was $76,000, given to the city of Perry, Mo.

“Expanding and maintaining our state’s infrastructure is essential to economic development,” Rob Dixon, DED director, said in a press release. “These projects are keeping our communities strong and preparing them for new opportunities in the months and years ahead.”

Cities awarded include:

Atlanta $444,844
Baldwin Park $207,600
Bell City $349,460
Blackwater $304,050
Bunker $226,914
Butler County $177,599
Callao $469,000
Camdenton $500,000
Cardwell $370,779
Concordia $173,561
Crane $241,088
Deepwater $483,195
Douglas County $500,000
East Prairie $498,862
Ellington $295,819
Ellsinore $772,772
Hartville $492,338
Howell County $491,306
Kennett $500,000
Laclede $409,651
Marston $499,931
Naylor $500,000
Palmyra $391,381
Parma $391,381
Perry $76,040
Poplar Bluff $498,074
Qulin $254,910
Rockaway Beach $455,737
Savannah $498,800
Steelville $495,788
Stoddard County $468,148
Sturgeon $128,643
Theodosia $498,800
Union $500,000
Wardell $497,379
Warsaw $488,157
Williamsville $233,982
Wyatt $497,630


Published June 2021